SalsT s

4

Y} Ohio
Medical Board
Licensing Process

Joe Turek, Director of Licensure and Licensee Services
June 9, 2020




‘TW‘ State M

(¥} Ohio

\

Licensure

All professionals regulated by the Medical
Board must have a license issued by the
Board before they can practice in Ohio.

Licensure staff reviews the applications to be
sure that the applicant qualifies for a license.
The Director of Licensure has authority to
approve applications.
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About the Medical Board

To protect and enhance the health and safety of the public through effective medical regulation.
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Statutes

Laws enacted by Ohio legislature
Ohio Revised Code (ORC)

Rules

Regulations developed and enacted
by Medical Board

Ohio Administrative Code (OAC)

Rules clarify & amplify provisions in
the Ohio Revised Code
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The Medical Board regulates more than 90,000 licensees.
Allopathic Physicians Anesthesiologist Assistants Massage Therapists
43,224 278 11,811
Osteopathic Physicians Physician Assistants Cosmetic Therapists
7,126 4,257 181
Podiatric Physicians Radiologist Assistants Acupuncturists
987 15 230
Training Certificates Genetic Counselors Oriental Medicine
MD-DO-DPM 377 Practitioners
8,344 65
Dietitians Respiratory Care
4,651 8,789

Data from April 17, 2020



Licensure Eligibility

O

State Medic IBord

According to Section 4759.05 of the Revised Code, the applicant must:

Pay the application fee
Be of good moral character

Receive baccalaureate or higher degree from approved
school with a program meeting academy of nutrition and
dietetics academic standards

Complete the pre-professional dietetic experience

approved by the academy of nutrition and dietetics

Successfully pass the exam offered by the Commission
on Dietetic Registration for dietitians
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Verify a License

To verify a Boense, select individual or
Businss. enber search criterla and dick
Soarch 10 a4 the results

Log in/Create an Account
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LOGIN | CREATE YOUR ACCOUNT

INDIVIDUAL  BUSINESS

https://elicense.ohio.gov

Application fee $225.00
Transaction fee $ 3.50
Total due at submission $228.50

Fees are not refundable

Use Visa, MasterCard or Discover to pay fee
No payment by check or money order

Background checks required for initial
license (FBI & Ohio BCI)



ELlcense ,Ohio,gov HOME LICENSE LOOK-UP FILE A COMPLAINT LOG IN

New Users Existing Users

Welcome to the future home of Professional Licensure for the Login
State of Ohio

The current release of elicense Ohio is for use by:

Create a new *

= Architects Board and Landscape Architects Board (All license types)

acco u nt + Chemical Dependency Professionals Board (All license types)
- - Dental Board (All license types)
- Medical Board (See link below for list of license types) *

« Nursing Board (All license types)

cc ) - Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy and Athletic Trainers Board (All license
Select “l don’t have a

= Orthotics, Prosthetics, and Pedorthics (All license types) Forgot Password?

I icense . ? - Sanitarian Board (All license types) Forgot Email?

Click here for a complete list of license types that are in eLicense Ohio. Need help logging in? Click here

Other professionals and those searching for information on other license types
should go to https://license.ohio.gov for their licensure needs.

Create a New Account Do not log in with email or
Register here for a new leLlcense.Ohlol.Gov accml,lnt. | ) | password_ You must create an
If you currently have a license or previously applied for a license or certificate in

Chio and do not have a login through this portal, please select *I Have a License”. account
-

If yvou currently do not have a license or have not previously applied for a license
or certificate in Qhio, please select | Don't Have a License”.

el

IHAVE A LICENSE I DON'T HAVE A LICENSE
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SUPPORT REGISTRATION GUIDE CONTACT  PRIVACY NOTICE  WWW.OHIO.GOV




New License

REgISier hire 10r @ néw elicenss Dhilg, Gov account as

a new oeEnsas

Yioa social security number s required for accurate * Fi rSt N a mE Mid d | E N a me

identification undsar federal and state chikd support
enforoement Bw (42 U.S.C. §666 and §3123 50
ORLC.)

* Last Name

Mead Relp Registenng? Click nene

REMEMBER the * Social Security Number e T e

email account
and password

used to create the * Email address » Confirm email
account

* Date of birth

* Password * Confirm password

Passwand mus) contain
0O Mofe than 10 Characieds




Email and
Password Tips

Email

Password must contain:

LOGIN More than 10 Characters including
B

1 1 Uppercase Letter
ok ok ek ok
1 1 Lowercase Letter
1 1 Number
[ 1 Special Character (e.g. S%"@#)

Password must contain User's First and Last Name

s State Medical Board of

Y} Ohio
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Limited Permit License

May be issued to person who completed the education and
preprofessional requirements for dietitian license who intends to take the
licensure exam within 7 months of issuance of the permit

Apply and renew online - elicense.ohio.gov

Application fee - $68.50
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Limited Permit License

Limited permit expires if person does not take licensure exam or fails the exam

Limited Permit issue date Limited Permit valid until

April 1 through Sept. 30 October 31+t
October 1 through March 31 April 30t

Permit may be renewed online - elicense.ohio.gov - $68.50
Exam failure:

» Report results to Medical Board
 First failure — practice only under supervision of licensed dietitian

« Second failure — limited permit expires immediately; limited permit no longer available if
exam failed two or more times
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Application Status Codes

eLicense.Ohio.gov

Pending Application started but not completed

Submitted Application and payment received

In review Application under review — will remain in this status until
finalized

Active License to practice — may have sub status of probation

Inactive Cannot practice in Ohio - may have sub status - expired

Closed Sub status - deceased


https://elicense.ohio.gov/OH_HomePage
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Renew Online

It

Dietitian licenses valid for up to 2 years — https://elicense.ohio.gov

expires every 2 years based on the date of Renewal fee $180.00
issuance
NO background check required UGB ) 12 D el
Completion of one CEU in jurisprudence TOTAL due at submission $183.50
approved by Medical Board required vt e e e b

Use Visa, MasterCard or Discover to pay fee. No payment by check or money order accepted.



Unlicensed
Practice

Practicing without a valid license is a
felony.




State Medical Board o

Ohio

..}

e

(

L ate Renewals

Reinstate license if expired for less
than 2 years

= Fee - $208.50

Restore license if expired more than Dietitian (LD)
2 years

. Fee = $233 . 50 License Renewal
u Resto ration a p p I ication Licenses issued effective 10/17/19 and thereafter .wil expire :j.~.-c| yvears after the eriginal date .:,-.f. ssUance:

« for existing license helders, the renewal deadline will continue to be on the same date as it is currently

far new license holders this means renewal will sceur on the two-year anniversary of Initial issuance and

= Criminal background check

» pro-rated CME applies only to initial licenses issued prior to 10/17/2019 with less than 18 months of

= Exam or other info may be required
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Address Update

Medical Board licensees are
required to provide written
notice of any change of
address for principal practice or
place of residence within 30
days.
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Duty to Report

Licensees have a personal duty to report to the State
Medical Board of Ohio when they believe an individual
licensed by the Board has violated the Board's laws or
rules including sexual misconduct, impairment,
practice below the minimal standards of care, and
improper prescribing of controlled substances.

Reports of misconduct to supervisors, law enforcement or
health care system management do NOT fulfill the duty to
report to the Board; failure to report could result in formal
disciplinary action.




Case: Duty to Report

Doctor knew for almost 3 years that his
partner and co-owner of their pain
management practice was accused of
engaging in sexual misconduct with female
patients during medical exams.

He failed to report his partner’s

iInappropriate sexual conduct to the Medical
Board.

Board action: Permanent revocation

e Medical Board o
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INVESTIGATIONS

Medical Board revokes license of

second doctor at controversial pain

clinic

The Ohio Medical Board voted to permanently revoke the medical

license of Nr Prnhart (Cainar
MEDICAL BOARD RECORD—35.051474
LICENSE STATUS/DISCIPLINARY ACTIONS—License Inactive; see board actions at the
bottom of this blog post.

.. Ohio doctor doesn’t report pal’s sexual abuse, loses
license

" | DOCTOR AT CONTROVERSIAL CLINIC LOSES LICENSE ;:;’ wkyc 34




State Medical Board of Ohio' Cofidential
Complaint Hotline

1-833-333-SMBO (76206)




Joe Turek

Director of Licensure & Licensee Services
State Medical Board of Ohio

30 E. Broad Street, 3 Floor

Columbus, OH 43215

*Email your license or renewal questions to license@med.ohio.gov.

I—-._-—Imed.ohio.gov @ contact@med.ohio.gov elicense.ohio.gov y@ohiomedboard
pad O
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